Four running for county commissioner

Tony Parra

Tuesday was the last day for people to declare their candidacy for Roosevelt County positions, and one particular position received a lot of attention.
There are four candidates for the District 2 commissioner’s seat: Harvey Teague, David Sanders, Charles May and George Martin. Incumbent Chad Davis decided not to run for re-election.
Sanders, a former Roosevelt County Commissioner, is current a lobbyist for the county. Sanders served as county commissioner from 1990 to 2000 and is currently on the Eastern New Mexico Rural Water Authority.
May, a Buena Vista Reality real-estate broker, has served on the Elida School Board, Roosevelt County Electric Board and previously owned a ranch west of Elida.
“If voters decide on me, I could devote a lot of my time to being commissioner,” May said. “I know a lot about the problems farmers and ranchers face. We moved to town (Portales) in 2000 and I know what’s going on in town, also.”
Martin said he served in the United States army during the Korean War and did two tours in Germany. He represented the U.S. as a Department of Defense uniformed services civilian in Bosnia from 2001 to 2002.
“I think a lot can be done in Roosevelt County,” Martin said. “Roswell is booming with NMMI (New Mexico Military Institute) and Portales could be, too, with the university. I have management skills and worked all my life and I’m not going to stop.”
Both Martin and May graduated from Eastern New Mexico University in 1958. Martin graduated with a double-major in Speech and Political Science. May graduated with a business degree.
It’s a two-candidate race for the probate judge position between current probate judge Nancy Gentry and the challenger, current Portales Municipal Judge Fred Arnold. Gentry defeated Arnold and three other candidates in the previous election.
“I’m going to be doing more campaigning this time,” Arnold said. “People put their trust in not only judges, but the politicians they vote for. Everything is based on trust.”
Roosevelt County Commissioner Dennis Lopez will run unopposed for District 1. Janet Collins will run unopposed for the county clerk position while Nancy Belcher will run unopposed for the county treasurer position.
All positions carry a four-year term.
Current Roosevelt County Clerk Joyce Lee Fraze will resign at the end of the year after serving Roosevelt County for 31 years, the last 12 as county clerk. She said she has reached the limit of two terms as county clerk.
“I’ve enjoyed it tremendously,” Fraze said. “I enjoyed working with the public.”