Personalities Plus: Anton Iliuk

Your name: Anton Iliuk
Your job: President’s ambassador, but a student before anything else
Your age (and date of birth): 20 years-old, February 9, 1984
Your hometown: Kolomiya, Ukraine
Occupation: full time student
Your hobbies and groups you are involved with, volunteer work: Kappa Sigma Fraternity, rugby club soccer, senate, any intramural sports.

What do you think of Portales?
“Well, when I first drove into the good ol’ P-ville, I thought the school was going to be a barn and the professors would be farmers. However, I was pleasantly surprised to see the campus and lay my eyes on a somewhat green grass by the ENMU buildings. If I could describe Portales in a few words, I’d say windy, dry, and the people are very friendly.”

What do you visualize your life being like in 10 years?
“I see myself having my Ph.D. by then and having a great job in either someone’s company or in a government research lab working with drugs in biochemistry and pharmacology fields.”

Tell us about your parents:
“My parents are both 56 years old and still living in the Ukraine. I’m lucky enough to say that they are not divorced. They gave me and my brother a real childhood (I know a lot of kids nowadays that don’t get that).”

Who is your hero and why?
“It’s my brother. He is 30 years-old and is everything I want to be. He has been my role model ever since I could say ‘role model.’ He has helped me with my difficulties. He helped to improve my English so I could come to the U.S. for school. “

What is your greatest hope?
“In my personal life, my greatest hope would be to find a cure for cancer. In life, there are always wars, therefore, I would want to put an end to homicide.”

If money were no object, what would you do to make the world a better place?
“I would create an organization like NATO or EU, but with every world nation’s representation (with people’s representation, not a monarch or a dictator), so the people could say to the rest of the world if they need help in their country’s affairs.”

Tell us about your greatest individual accomplishment:
“Academics wise, getting picked out of 500-plus students to come to the United States as a high school exchange program. Sports wise, getting 5th place in a national wrestling championship, and then going to represent Ukraine in international competitions in Europe.”

When you were a kid, what did you think you’d be doing as an adult?
“Definitely not science. I had hoped to be a soccer player or a lawyer because that’s what my dad and brother were.”

If I could do anything, I would…
“Own a country.”

Tell us about a happy time:
“Joining a Kappa Sigma Fraternity, which became my second family.”

What is your favorite TV show, past and present?
“Past: ER Present: South Park.”

What is your favorite book and why?
“Crime and Punishment by Dostoyevsky; It raised a critical question about what truly separates a human from any other animal. Read it, it’s good.”

If you could be a superhero, what would your name and powers be?
“I don’t know what I would call him, but I would want the morals and faith power of Jesus.”

What would you like printed on your gravestone?
“He lived, he tried, he accomplished.”

What is your idea of a perfect day?
“Spending the day with a girlfriend on Iceland. And a night in Las Vegas, Nev. with my friends.”

What do you like about your job?
“The communication with people, and a chance to influence one of the most important decisions in life: choosing a college.”

Tell about a time when you were nervous:
“My first international wrestling match.”

If you could redo one moment in life, what would it be?
“I have lived a great life. I wouldn’t change anything about it.”

Name one thing you like about yourself.
“I’m confident. I know what I want and I do what I can to get it.”

— Compiled by Laurie Stone