Portales sending 18 athletes to state track meet

PNT Staff

Portales’ track coaches were pleased with results from last weekend’s District 4-3A track championships in Ruidoso, and will go to this weekend’s state meet in Albuquerque with 18 athletes between the boys and girls squad.
The girls, by the numbers, had a better weekend, qualifying an additional seven athletes at the meet — making a total of 12 in addition to the five that had previously qualified.
“It was a pretty good weekend,” girls coach Ruth Chavez said. “We wanted to get our 400(-meter) relay in. It was pretty close, but we didn’t get it.”
The Lady Rams will have their other three relay teams in Albuquerque, though. The 800-meter relay team, the 1,600-meter team and the medley relay team all earned spots.
Individual athletes who qualified include Michaela Alexander (mile and two-mile), Desirae Peterson (mile) and Kelsi Gray (triple jump).
Jordan Roehl will compete in the shot put, after hitting qualifying distances in every meet this season, Chavez said.
The boys will bring six athletes to Albuquerque, mostly on relay teams.
“It was a good meet,” boys coach Glenn Johnson said. “They set it up well and it went off well.”
The 400-meter relay team — Richard Kemp, Deonte Wyche, Jason Needham and Amador Lujan — qualified, as did the medley team (Wyche, Lujan, Joey Moore and Eric Segovia).
Other athletes qualifying for Portales include Hunter Rackler in the high jump and Tyler Johnson in shot and discus. Lujan qualified in the 100-meter and 200-meter, while Needham qualified for the 200-meter dash.

Tennis — The Portales tennis teams will leave today for this week’s state tournament in Albuquerque.
Individual events start on Wednesday for doubles and singles matches and will run through Thursday. Team events are Friday and Saturday.
Portales won both doubles brackets in last weekend’s District 4/1-3A tournament in Roswell — Chance Plummer and Chris Kirchner took the award for the boys, Rachelle Self and Kaycee Quick for the girls. Competing in singles will be Morgan Erf and Bethany Self for the girls and Chase Acker for the boys.