Cross country members earn awards

PNT Staff

Eastern New Mexico University cross country coach Joel McMullen and assistant Matthew Gordillo have announced winners of the inaugural Mike Boit Award as the program’s runners of the year.
Award winners for 2004-05, based on their placings in cross country meets during the fall, were freshman Jason Garcia of Alamogordo for the men and junior Lynnae Chavez of Cimarron for the women.
“I’m very proud of Jason and Lynnae for their efforts this year, and we are so blessed to have them on the squad,” McMullen said. “We are looking for great things again from them next year.”
A native of Kenya, Boit competed in track and cross country at ENMU in the 1970s and set several records, including then-NAIA marks in the mile run (3:54.8) and the 800-meter run (1:43.75).
He helped ENMU win NAIA national cross country titles in 1973 and 1974, and went on to receive recognition as a world-class miler while competing for Kenya in the Summer Olympics.
Men’s cross country letters were awarded to Garcia, junior Patrick McGuire, junior Orlando Sanchez, freshman Kennedy Baiywo, sophomore Ricardo Hernandez and freshman Tyrone Lockett. Women’s letters went to Chavez, freshman Brittany Bauer, senior Karissa Huskey, freshman Laura Shorty and sophomore Laura Rivera.