Fairgoers and merchants end festivities

Kevin Wilson: PNT Managing Editor

Eight days after they first arrived at the Roosevelt County Fairgrounds, the Leglers were back at their group’s fair booth, trying to leave it as empty as they found it.

Gretchen Legler watched as her 10-year-old daughter Abby took down parts of their booth for Girl Scout Troop 673, complete with a “Be Brilliant” theme featuring famous inventions from females. More troops members were on the way, but Abby Legler had most of the work done at that point.

“It’s the only thing as a leader where we don’t have to do anything,” joked Gretchen Legler, the troop leader.

While her mother enjoyed the rest, Abby Legler said she liked pretty much everything about the fair, especially the Yo-Yo ride at the carnival.

Others were at the fairgrounds Monday to take down their booths, take home their crafts, or receive checks from the fair board for winning entries.

Rain on Saturday and Sunday night and caused the carnival to end slightly early both nights.

“The rain didn’t devastate us,” Fair Board President Jana Roberts said, “but it wasn’t kind to us either.”

Otherwise, Roberts had no complaints about the fair, which hit its apex during Saturday night activities, including a performance from the Allie Brooks Band, the Arenacross at the Special Events Arena and the Junior Livestock Sale. The sale netted a record $138,000 this year, nearly $8,000 more than last year’s total.

“I’ve heard the motorcross was excellent,” Roberts said, “but I didn’t get to it because of the (junior livestock) sale, which was also excellent.”

Fair board member Nancy Belcher, who supervised the gates, said she couldn’t give a solid number on attendance because of the number of season passes and complimentary passes. She estimated that the crowd was at its largest for Saturday night’s events and overall attendance was in the 5,000 to 7,000 range.

If anything could be improved for 2006, Roberts suggested that more people enter into the home arts category.

Four new board members will also come in for three-year terms starting in 2006.

David Craig was re-elected and will be joined by Shannon Lee, Melissa Walker, Kevin Breshears and Janell Paiz. Outgoing members are Randy Lieb, Gayland Cowen, Scott Tucker and Mike Cone.