June 4, 2006 Organizations

Roosevelt County Educational Employees

The educational retirees met May 18 at Golden Acres Center. Mercedes Agogino and Mary Clotfelter were hostesses. President Faye Keener called the meeting to order with the pledges to the flags and the minutes and treasurer’s report were read and approved. 

Johnny Parker, Portales Police Department, brought an informative program titled “Crime and the Senior Citizen.” 

After the program, the proposed bylaws and constitution were presented to the group. They were instructed to go over the proposed bylaws and constitution and bring their copies with any changes back to the next meeting in September for discussion. 

A committee of past presidents were chosen to have a slate of officers for 2006-2007 to be presented at the September meeting, also.

Faye Dunn, Iris Johnson, Rosalie Patrick, Ed and Pat Watson, and Faye Keener were chosen to be delegates to the state convention for educational retirees held in October at Taos. Dunn will be honored at the convention as this year’s outstanding member.

Twenty-four members attended the meeting. The unit meets every third Thursday with a pot luck luncheon except for the summer months.

United Daughters of the Confederacy
The Ellen W. Jones chapter of the United Daughters of The Confederacy held their annual Memorial Day observance at the UDC circle in Portales Cemetery.

The presentation of the flags was given by Travis Foster, Wayne Mize and Joe Terry. Salutes to the flags were given by president Jan Ross who then welcomed everyone. The Invocation was given by Jane Hilliard. A musical selection was given by Coby Carter. Joyce Locke presented the wreath in front of the stone marker. The Lord’s Prayer was given in unison. The roll call of remembrance was given by Margaret Smith, Vicky Stratton-Marshall and Nena Stratton placed Confederate flags around the circle as names were called.

Bess Jones introduced Wayne Mize who gave a program titled “The Battle at Gettysburg.” Mize had a collection of Confederate memorabilia on display that included, guns, confederate money, pictures, canteens, cups and other collectibles. Some of the younger ones that were present were allowed to shoot one of the rifles. “Dixie” was sung by the group accompanied by Carter. The Benediction was given by Jane Millette. Jones played a recorded “Taps”. The ceremony closed with returning of the flags by the flag bearers.

Confederate veterans remembered were: Charles Lee Carter. Dr. S. F. Culberson, Marion J. Howard, John Hobson Jones, John Hunter Lott, John W. Martin, John W. Renolds, S.H. Shakelford, E.A. Aston, William Beasley, P.E. Brooch, S.D. Burke, M.C. Dillinger, Jackson Winfield Franse, L.P. Glasscock, William Lewis Heck, James Franklin Keller, John Bealle King, William George McDonald, James E. Maxwell, George Morgan, Joshua Page, Phylander S. Tipton, John Henry Troutt, George W. Wood, Marian E. Dunlap, William J. Ellis, Leefiwick N. Stone, Micajah Stone, and James Lemon Miller.

A brunch was held following the observance at Roosevelt General’s hospitality room. Joyce Locke, Vicky Stratton-Marshall and Nena Stratton were hostesses. They decorated the tables in red, white, and blue with red and white carnations, favors were filled canvas bags made by Vicky. Della Kobernick won the door prize.

Janelle Foster announced plans for a trip to Glorieta in August and a ceremony in September to award military crosses. The group will not meet again until September.