Municipal election candidates file

The following candidates filed by the 5 p.m. deadline Tuesday for the March 2 Portales municipal election:


• Gary L. Watkins

• Steven R. Davis

• Sharon L. King

• Dennis Lopez

Ward A Councilor:

• Antonio O. Salguero (incumbent)

Ward B Councilor:

• Oscar H. Robinson

• Antonio Roque Sanchez Jr.

• Calvin L. Gray

Ward C Councilor
• Shawn Watson (incumbent)
• Leo Lovett

Ward C Councilor

• Ronald L. Jackson (incumbent)

Ward D Councilor

• Dianne Y. Parker (incumbent)

Municipal Judge

• Frederick Arnold (incumbent)

Important dates:

• Thursday, 9 a.m.: Certified list of candidates posted

• Jan. 12, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.: Write-in candidate declaration

• Feb. 2: Deadline to register to vote in the March election