Businesses eligible for disaster loans

Small, non-farm businesses in Curry, Roosevelt and Quay counties can apply for low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration, according to a news release from the SBA.

Small non-farm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives and most private, non-profit organizations may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans of up to $2 million. The loans aim to help with financial obligations and operating expenses that could have been met if the drought, excessive heat, high winds and wildfires that began Jan. 1 in Texas hadn’t occurred, according to the release.

The deadline to apply is Feb. 24, 2012.

Applicants may apply online at

Information and application forms: SBA Customer Service Center at (800) 659-2955, by e-mail to, or at Hearing impaired individuals may call (800) 877-8339.